Finding Information using UTPA's Online Databases

Searching Databases within your Major: Education

Children's Literature Comprehensive Database (CLCD) "is an acquisition, research, and reference service that offers more than 1,200,000 MARC records and more than 240,000 reviews of children's books--all full text searchable from 33 review sources."

Education Full Text indexes and abstracts periodicals and books dealing with all aspects of education. It also includes full text/full image articles.

ERIC "sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education, produces the world's premier database of journal and non-journal education literature."

ERIC (from EBSCO) "contains more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information and citations and abstracts from over 1,000 educational and education-related journals."

JSTOR is a full image database of back issues of scholarly journals in African American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, botany, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology, and statistics.

LearningExpressLibrary "provides a completely interactive online learning platform of practice tests and tutorial course series designed to help patrons, students, and adult learners succeed on the academic or licensing tests they must pass." Use it to prepare for a GED or EMT exam, the GREs, MCATs, ACTs, or just about any other test. First time users must create their own Username and Password.

Mental Measurements Yearbook "contains full text information about and reviews of all English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas as included in the printed Mental Measurements Yearbooks." A second browser window will open automatically, where you will have to check Mental Measurements Yearbook and then click on Open Selected Databases.

National Center for Education Statistics lets you search for schools and school districts, and provides a myriad of statistics.

Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection includes 350 peer reviewed journals, many PDF images and over 450 full text articles.

PsycINFO "contains more than one million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports, all in the field of psychology {and psychological aspects of other disciplines]. Journal coverage, which spans from 1887 to present, includes international material selected from more than 1,700 periodicals in over 35 languages."

Menu