Finding Information
using UTPA's Online Databases
Searching
Databases within your Major: Social & Behavioral
Sciences
Alternative Press Index provides citations to hundreds of periodicals presenting alternative views on political, social, economic, and cultural issues.
America: History and Life "is a complete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present."
Anthropological Index to Current Periodicals in The Anthropology Library at the British Museum (incorporating the former Royal Anthropological Institute library).
AnthroSource provides abstracts to over thirty publications of the American Anthropological Association, and complete articles to members of the AAA.
Bibliography of Native North Americans "is a bibliographic database covering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life. This resource covers a wide range of topics including archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy... Dates of coverage for included content range from the sixteenth century to the present."
Criminal Justice Abstracts "provides comprehensive coverage of the major journals in criminology and related disciplines, extensive coverage of books, and unparalleled access to reports from government and nongovernmental agencies."
Criminal Justice Periodicals Index provides citations/abstracts from around 200 journals, with full text/full image articles from more than one fourth of them.
Digital National Security Archive has "the most comprehensive collection available of significant primary documents central to US foreign and military policy since 1945."
Fuente Academica "is a unique collection of scholarly academic journals from renowned Latin American and Spanish publishers...[which] offers full text content to many academic areas including business & economics, medical sciences, political science, law, computer science, library & information sciences, literature, linguistics, history, philosophy and theology."
The Gerritsen Collection: Women's Online History, 1543--1945, is "the greatest single source for the study of women's history in the world, with materials spanning four centuries and fifteen languages...[with] two million page images exactly as they appeared in the original printed works."
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI) "provides ready access to information on measurement instruments (i.e., questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/manuals ... vignettes/scenarios, tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science."
Historical Abstracts is a "complete reference guide to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life)."
ICPSR (the Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research) "established in 1962, is an integral part of the infrastructure of social science research. [It] maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction...ICPSR does not provide publications, reports, or ready-made statistics,... [but instead supplies] the numeric raw data used to create publications, reports, and figures."
JSTOR is a full image database of back issues of scholarly journals in African American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, botany, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology, and statistics.
Legal Collection "contains full text for nearly 250 of the world's most respected, scholarly law journals."
LEXIS-NEXIS Academic Universe has "full text company news & financial information...full text federal, state & international legal materials...full text & abstracted medical & health information...general reference sources" and national and international news.
Mental Measurements Yearbook "contains full text information about and reviews of all English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas as included in the printed Mental Measurements Yearbooks." A second browser window will open automatically, where you will have to check Mental Measurements Yearbook and then click on Open Selected Databases.
Military and Government Collection provides full text from almost 400 military and general interest publications ... to bring current news to all branches of the military. This database also offers indexing and abstracts for over 500 magazines.
National Archeological Database Reports module "is an expanded bibliographic inventory of over 350,000 reports on archeological investigation and planning, mostly of limited circulation."
National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) "contains summaries of more than 180,000 criminal justice publications." Some of these documents are in our 3rd floor microfiche collection under the call number HV 7231 .N4. Use the NCJ number to locate the exact microfiche.
Periodicals Archive Online contains full page images to millions of articles, from hundreds of journals, in 37 subject areas within the humanities and social sciences, with deep chronological coverage going back over 200 years.
Political Database of the Americas "contains hard copy information on the institutional, constitutional and political structures of the region."
POPLINE "is the world's largest bibliographic database on population, family planning, and related health issues.
PRISMA "is a comprehensive reference resource providing full-text scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities for the interdisciplinary academic study of Hispanic and Latin America, and the Caribbean Basin."
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection includes 350 peer reviewed journals, many PDF images and over 450 full text articles.
PsycINFO "contains more than one million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports, all in the field of psychology {and psychological aspects of other disciplines]. Journal coverage, which spans from 1887 to present, includes international material selected from more than 1,700 periodicals in over 35 languages."
Social Sciences Full Text covers "a wide range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad array of social sciences journals." It includes some full text/full image articles, but also some abstracts without full text.
Social Work Abstracts "contains more than 35,000 records ... from social work and other related journals." A second browser window will open automatically, where you will have to check Social Work Abstracts and then click on Open Selected Databases.
SocINDEX with Full Text has millions of citations and articles, from thousands of journals (some going back to 1895), plus conference papers, books, and other items.
Web of Knowledge contains three citation databases - Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index, which include citations and some links to full text articles from 1975 to the present. We ask all participants to use the LOG OUT button at the end of each search session when they are finished, so that others may use Web of Science.
|