Finding Information
using UTPA's Online Databases
Searching
Databases within your Major: Arts & Humanities
20th
Century American and English Poetry includes
over 50,000 poems, from 1,000s of volumes, from
over 300 American poets and over 280 English poets
Alternative Press Index provides citations to hundreds of periodicals presenting alternative views on political, social, economic, and cultural issues.
America: History and Life "is a complete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present."
American Film Scripts Online contains hundreds of scripts by hundreds of writers "together with detailed, fielded information on the scenes, characters and people related to the scripts. When complete, the collection will include more than 1,000 scripts and over 100,000 scenes of life as portrayed in the movies."
American Memory from the Library of Congress "provides free and open access ... to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience."
American Periodicals Series Online "contains digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals that originated between 1741, when Andrew Bradford's American Magazine and Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine were launched, and 1900" as well as materials from the Twentieth Century. This link takes you to Criminal Justice Periodicals Index, from which you click on APSOnline.
Art Full Text provides citations and abstracts on the arts, architecture, design, cinema, etc., from magazines published around the world. It also includes full text/full image articles.
Bibliography of Native North Americans "is a bibliographic database covering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life. This resource covers a wide range of topics including archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy... Dates of coverage for included content range from the sixteenth century to the present."
Children's Literature Comprehensive Database (CLCD) "is an acquisition, research, and reference service that offers more than 1,200,000 MARC records and more than 240,000 reviews of children's books--all full text searchable from 33 review sources."
Classical Music Library "the world's largest multi-label database of Classical music recordings for listening and learning in libraries ... ranges from vocal and choral music, to chamber, orchestral, solo instrumental, and opera" and includes over 50,000 recordings from over 1800 composers by thousands of ensembles and artists.
ComAbstracts contains "article abstracts, books, bibliographic records, and other sources of relevance to researchers, scholars, and students interested in fields related to human communication studies."
Communication and Mass Media Complete, a merger of Mass Media Articles Index and CommSearch, "provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media."
Digital National Security Archive has "the most comprehensive collection available of significant primary documents central to US foreign and military policy since 1945."
Early Encounters in North America contains "over 100,000 pages of letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of early encounters."
Early English Books Online includes full image works from 15th, 16th, and 17th century English literature. It includes lesser known works, as well as the classics, along with "prayer books, pamphlets, and proclamations; almanacs, calendars, and many other primary sources."
Eighteenth Century Collections Online has "the digital images of every page of 150,000 books published during the 18th Century [including] full-text searching of approximately 33 million pages." Some of the subjects covered are history, science, philosophy, literature, the arts, and law.
Fuente Academica "is a unique collection of scholarly academic journals from renowned Latin American and Spanish publishers...[which] offers full text content to many academic areas including business, economics, medical sciences, political science, law, computer science, libraryand information sciences, literature, linguistics, history, philosophy and theology."
Gale Virtual Reference Library includes subject encyclopedias and other reference books on the arts, business, education, biological and physical sciences, history and other social sciences, medicine, and other subjects.
The Gerritsen Collection: Women's Online History, 1543--1945, is "the greatest single source for the study of women's history in the world, with materials spanning four centuries and fifteen languages...[with] two million page images exactly as they appeared in the original printed works."
Grove Music Online "comprises the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, ... The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, ... and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz ... Grove Music Online continues to grow with both newly commissioned material and more articles from other Grove dictionaries."
HarpWeek "consists of the pages of Harper's Weekly, scanned as images", from 1857 to 1893, with searchable full text to 1912.
Historical Abstracts is a "complete reference guide to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life)."
History E-Book Project from ACLS provides electronic books in history "that remain vital to both scholars and advanced students, are frequently cited in the literature, and are currently not widely available."
Humanities Full Text cites articles from scholarly journals and specialized magazines in the humanities, including archaeology, art, classical studies, communications, dance, film, folklore, gender studies, history, journalism, linguistics, social criticism, music, performing arts, philosophy, religion and theology. It also includes full text/full image articles.
Humanities International Index "provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracting for over 1,700 journals . . . [including] a multitude of international journals, [plus] books and reference works. . . as well as original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations."
IIMP, the International Index to Music Periodicals, "covers nearly all aspects of the world of music, from the most scholarly studies to the latest crazes."
In the First Person "lets users perform in-depth field and keyword searches across all letters, diaries, oral histories, memoirs, and autobiographies within scholarly materials that are freely available on the Web and Alexander Street databases." If full text is not available, information about the archive where documents are stored is provided.
JSTOR is a full image database of back issues of scholarly journals in African American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, botany, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology, and statistics.
Latin American Women Writers brings together "the most important writers from 19 countries, as well as the works of the principal feminists, in one single collection [including] ... literary works, memoirs, feminist essays, and other materials" from the colonial period to the present."
Literary databases (Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, Dictionary of Literary Biography) have " in-depth information on the lives and writings of nearly 100,000 authors along with critical reaction to their works."
Literature Resource Center is an "all-inclusive [Gale/InfoTrac] database [that] contains information on both classical and contemporary authors and their works."
MLA Bibliography " indexes critical scholarship on literature, language, linguistics and folklore.
MLA Directory of Periodicals offers detailed information on over 7,000 journals.
North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral Histories, "composed of contemporaneous letters and diaries, oral histories, interviews, and other personal narratives, ... provides a rich source for scholars in a wide range of disciplines."
North American Women's Letters and Diaries "is the largest collection of women's diaries and correspondence ever assembled. Spanning more than 300 years, [it] brings the personal experiences of some 1,325 women to researchers, students, and general readers" via 150,000 pages of letters and diaries.
Palmer's Full Text Online indexes The Times of London for 1790--1905, with full text images of The Times for 1800--1870.
Past Masters is a searchable full-text Philosophy database.
Periodicals Archive Online contains full page images to millions of articles, from hundreds of journals, in 37 subject areas within the humanities and social sciences, with deep chronological coverage going back over 200 years.
Philosopher's Index "is a bibliographic database with ... abstracts covering scholarly research in all areas of philosophy ... and includes journal articles, [over 550 journals from more than 40 countries ... updated quarterly] books, book chapters such as contributions to an anthology, and book reviews."
PRISMA "is a comprehensive reference resource providing full-text scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities for the interdisciplinary academic study of Hispanic and Latin America, and the Caribbean Basin."
Religion and Philosophy Collection contains "over 250 full text articles covering subjects such as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.
Scribner Writers Series provides "access to 1,600 original and detailed bio-critical essays on the lives and works of important authors from around the world."
Twayne's Authors Series "offers in-depth introductions to the lives and works of writers, the history and influence of literary movements and to the development of literary genres."
World
History Collection offers a global look at
history with content from Africa, Asia, North
and South America, Europe and the Middle East...[with]
cover-to-cover full text for nearly 150 titles,
including many peer-reviewed journals."
|