Finding Information using UTPA's Online Databases

Finding Journal and Magazine Articles

Once you are in Academic Search Complete, you can find easily find articles from magazines and journals. Just follow the steps below to get started!

1. Type your topic into the search box. Almost all of the library's databases work with keyword searching. This means that the computer will search for the exact word you type into the search box. Most importantly, it WILL NOT search for other words that have the same meaning. For example let's say that you need to write a paper on the death penalty in Texas. You might start by searching for the words "death penalty". You will find many results with articles that talk about the death penalty. However, you will not get any results for articles that just talk about "capital punishment" because, even though the concept is the same, the computer is only searching for the exact words that you put in the search box! Here's what it looks like:


Note: Checking the Full Text box will ensure that you get the full text of the article online. Databases can contain both abstracts (descriptions) of articles as well as the full text version.

2. Hit the search box to start your search.

3. You will get a results that look something like this:

Note that there are links to academic journals, magazines, and newspapers. You can modify your search to include only articles from one of those categories by clicking on the link. When you do your initial search, the default setting will allow you to see all types of articles.

4. Pick an article that sounds interesting to you. To view a description of the article, click on the title. To view the full article, click on the full text link.


5. So far, we have been searching for articles on the death penalty. However, our original topic was about the death penalty in Texas. To narrow down our topic, we need to modify our search to include "Texas" as a search term. When you want to add another term to your search, you need to connect it with the work "and". You new search, then, will be: death penalty and Texas.


Menu